Malta Railway

The Route


Home page


  Valletta Station

  ......Valletta to Floriana

  Floriana Station

  ......Floriana to Hamrun

  Hamrun Station & Workshop

  ......Hamrun to Msida


Msida Station 


  ......Msida to Birkirkara

    Birkirkara Station 

  ......Birkirkara to San Antonio

    San Antonio Station

  ......San Antonio to Attard

  Attard Station

  ......Attard to San Salvatore 

  San Salvatore Station

  ......San Salvatore to Mdina 

  Notabile Station

  ......Mdina to Mtarfa

  Museum Station 

From Valletta to Museum Station the line climbs over 500 feet in a distance of just over 7 miles with a maximum gradient of 1 in 40. The down journey time from Valletta to Museum was 35 minutes and the up time was 30 minutes. There were no gates at the 18 road crossings. At 14 of the crossings control was by an official know as a "Catena" who was responsible for chaining off the track to allow the free passage of the train signalled by a flag during the day and a lamp at night. At each of these crossing points a guard hut was provided for the welfare of the "Catena".

This section is an attempt to show the railway as it is today with reference to the original route. The route has been divided into sections based on the old stations and the need to keep download times to an acceptable level. Several areas of the route have passed into private ownership and access is restricted. When walking the route please respect landowners rights and do not trespass or cause any damage.